Toddler Story Time: Block City

Munchkin had taken to reading recently, which at the age of two is basically turning pages and repeating the bits she remembers from the story. It’s really cute and funny (in my completely unbiased opinion), so I thought I would share some of her readings.

I will tidy the text up a bit, since toddler speak is not always the easiest to understand – some things are written phonetically, but others are edited for clarity’s sake, since guck can be both truck and duck and so on and so forth.

Block CityToday before nap time, she read me Block City. Written by Scottish poet and author Robert Louis Stevenson (the man behind Treasure Island and Strange Case of Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde), sometime in the 1800s, Block City is a beautiful, timeless poem.

We have this copy, from my own childhood, with gorgeous illustrations by Ashley Wolff. This is one of my favourite books of all time, both for the story and the illustrations, and I’m so happy that Munchkin enjoys it too.

So, without further ado, I bring you my two year old’s reading of Block City:

 

Bock City

Are you able to build with your bocks?

Are you able to build with your bocks?

Oh!

Tower and <word I don’t understand>

Tower and <word I don’t understand> (repeat ad nauseum, apparently she really likes the tower)

Oh! He got ice cream!

*gasp* Monkey!

Aww, mummy cuddle him.

BIG doggy!

I got de wrong page.

 

The end

Leave a Reply

