Happy Feet

Today I decided to wear my favourite shoes. I put one of them on and thought maybe I needed to tighten the strap at the back, because it felt funny. Nope, I’d just put it on the wrong foot!

They are a bit scuffed from an accidental-bush-hike adventure on holiday last year (I’ll explain that one day, maybe), and my toenails desperately need to be repainted, but red shoes = happy feet.

As it turned out it was to be one of those mornings where one mistake snowballs, and things start to pile up. Driving to work today, I got so caught up in singing along with the radio that I got almost all the way to the office before remembering that I was meant to pick up a coworker on the way.

Luckily she doesn’t live far away, but the route to her house took me into the path of every single truck on the road, plus three separate roadworks. At one of the roadworks the road was completely blocked, but due to the big truck in front of me (actually, due to swearing at the big truck in front of me for being big and slow) I completely missed the detour and ended up getting totally lost in a suburb not five minutes from where I grew up.

Even with everything going wrong this morning, it was still a better day than last Wednesday. Actually, I’d take 10 billion of these days over one emergency trip to the hospital – but that’s a story for another day.

And really, with red shoes and good tunes, things can’t be all that bad!

Leave a Reply

